Bear

Bear

BLOG 4 THEMATIC

Looking up to the sculpture made me feel tiny in size. I walked around it, completely mesmerized, observing its towering monumental size. As I reached my hand to touch the boulder, I could feel its sand colored texture. I leaned my body onto the sculpture to give it a quick hug. The boulders that create the sculpture were roughly rounded and mostly very large in size.

Each of the different size boulders is connected to create a familiar form. The connections are not visible which makes the whole structure seem effortless.  At first when I approached it I had a fear of them falling apart. But as I was walking up to it and I observed its curious tilted head I gained confidence and became more comfortable around the piece. It was mostly its familiar form that made me feel a sense of relief and comfort.

Bear is the name of the sculpture that sits in the middle of that courtyard. It welcomes you with curiosity as you walk by it. Bear is located in a highly trafficked pedestrian area because the courtyard bridges various buildings. The patch of grass where bear is centered is surrounded by walkways. Many students sit by to enjoy the sun on the grass that surrounds bear.

Walking up to bear and seeing its familiar shape made me feel comfort in that space even if I was previously foreign to the campus. When I first saw bear it felt as if seeing an old friend and getting a flashback of my childhood.  I noticed around me that there is something very special that sparks in everyone that sees the sculpture. Everyone who was around me seemed to really like Bear and they were automatically happy and playful. Many people were climbing on it and taking pictures. It was as if we became children for a moment.

BLOG 3 CHRONOLOGICAL

Walking through the beautiful UCSD campus and touring the Stuart Collection, we explored around the campus and stopped at various locations. We walked around observing and learned about the different sculptures with the aid of our enthusiastic docent. The Stuart Collection is a site-specific sculpture collection in which artists chose their sites carefully to backdrop and take part in their pieces.

As we walked into a courtyard there was a huge bear in the middle of the space. The bear is made of really big roughly round boulders with its head slightly tilted to the side. I felt a sense of curiosity as I walked up to it. It was as if the bear tilted its head with curiosity and it was highly contagious. The sculpture is called Bear and the artist is Tim Hawkinson.

I found Bear highly impressive mostly because there is no visible signs of how the boulders are connected and because of how effortless it looks.  Standing next to Bear made me feel tiny compared to its monumental size. It’s as if the scale of bear automatically resized me into a small child, both in size and in mind.  I automatically wanted to hug Bear as it brought memories of my teddy bears as a child. As I reached my arms around Bear I automatically felt a sense of joy and comfort.  The rounded edges of the boulders makes Bear look soft which attributes of what ideally a teddy bear is supposed to be.

I had visited the UCSD campus before but I had never been given a tour of the amazing Stuart Collection. There were other very interesting parts of the collection but bear was one of my favorites. The monumental scale and the way bear’s tilted head is what captured my attention. The teddy bear like sculpture is something almost everyone can relate to from childhood. Overall the tour was very educational and it definitely helped me understand and see land art differently.

BLOG 3

When I first heard of the field trip to San Diego I thought that it would be like going back home for the week. I was aware that with our week itinerary it was going to be really busy, but I couldn’t wait to re-visit some of the places I grew up so close from. The days before the field trip the weather in San Diego had been cold and wet, fortunately we got perfect fresh and sunny weather throughout the week. The day I enjoyed the most was Wednesday at UCSD. I arrived at the Gilman Parking Structure at 9:30 a.m. barely making it there on time, because I had crossed the Tijuana/San Ysidro border earlier. San Ysidro is approximately thirty minutes away from La Jolla on a normal traffic free day. Arriving at the meeting point I met with the few classmates left joining the fieldtrip. Our docent, who was really energetic and fun, arrived and we started our tour of the Stuart Collection around the beautiful UCSD campus. The Stuart Collection is a site-specific sculpture collection in which artists chose their sites carefully to backdrop and take part in their pieces. As we walked into a courtyard there was a huge bear made of roughly round boulders with its head slightly tilted to the side, I felt a sense of curiosity. It was as if the bear tilted its head with curiosity and it was contagious. This piece is called Bear by Tim Hawkinson. I found it impressive because there is no visible sign of how the boulders are connected and how effortless it looks. The rounded edges of the boulders makes Bear look soft which attributes of what ideally a teddy bear is supposed to be. I had visited the UCSD campus before but I had never been given a tour of the amazing Stuart Collection. Overall the fieldtrip was very educational and it definitely helped me understand and see design differently.

Leave a Reply

