Fairmount Park in Riverside

fairmount park

Post #4:  As I neared the entrance of the park I noticed all the vegetation and green life this place has. When you  start to stroll around the park you notice right away this location is very large and astounding. There are cement paths and dirt paths that lead all around the park. Next to the entrance of the park there are kiosks for family to gather and playgrounds for the kids to play. The playground there was the largest playground I’ve ever seen. I observed for a moment the social life in that section of the park and I found that there is diversity in the people’s behavior. In that day some were celebrating their son’s birthday in one of the kiosks while others where just relaxing having fun. Also this part of the park works well with relaxing especially in the hot days because there is plenty of shade. Apart from the kiosks there are an abundance of tall trees that give plenty of shade

            There are two lakes towards the center of the park and there is a street that divides them. There is a whole different life that happens here. There are a lot of birds that roam the lakes throughout the day. Mostly there are ducks and other smaller semi aquatic birds. When I was there I saw that people come to the lakes and feed the ducks and other birds that are there. So in a sense they are connecting with wildlife that is there sharing this landscape with them.  The people that hang around the lakes are I’d say calmer and more interactive with nature. You can fish in the lakes and that aspect contributes to the calmness. All in all what I learned from this experience is that people behave differently in each environment and are guided by their surroundings.

 

 

 

When I went to Fairmount Park in Riverside I had a great different experience. I had been to many parks and this one was not like any that I had ever been to. This park has a considerably large with many attractions to it. It is located right next the 60 freeway. When I got there and went to go park you could see a lot of trees and lawn around the landscape. Once you get to the middle of the park there are two lakes one that is a medium size and the other a way larger scale and they are separated by a road. Next to the smaller lake there are kiosks and a large playground for kids. This may sound like a regular park, but I think it’s very interesting in that you can fish in the lakes and there are an abundance of ducks and swans in the lake. Around the larger lake there is a path were you can walks and or run. Although this park has a richness of plant life from tall trees, lawn and other small plants on its perimeter there are houses in the southern hilly part of the park. There are many people that come to this park so there is a lot of social life on this park. There are families that gather to have a relaxing time or even celebrated their kid’s birthday. There are also people that come here alone to exercise, ride their bike or just take a walk around the park to admire its beauty and feed the ducks in the lake. When I was walking around the park I felt relaxed and had a good time admiring the green and the smell of all the trees and plants. I felt like I was on a trail on the mountain even though I wasn’t.

Leave a Reply

