Japanese Friendship Garden – Balboa Park

Japanese Friendship Garden - Balboa Park

Blog #4

There is this small authentic garden in Balboa Park called The Japanese Friendship Garden. It was one cloudy Wednesday when I visited the Japanese Friendship Garden, and I felt the cool breeze of air around the park. It was past the hour of ten in the morning and the sun was starting to show its luminous rays of sunshine. The weather was neither warm nor freezing cold; it was a perfect weather to wander and enjoy the astonishing beauty of nature. As I walked passed through the garden’s entrance, I saw the pleasing trellis and walked myself towards it. To my surprise, there is this beautiful pond behind the trees which is also adjacent to the trellis that had immediately caught my attention and captivated me. Kneeling down on one of the big rocks under the trellis facing the pond, the view was very calming. The composition elements of the pond were not as vibrantly colorful like any other gardens. That being said, it was very relaxing to look at. Watching a good number of big colorful koi fish swim in the pond added a hint of color to the monochromatic garden. The soothing sound of the water from the mini waterfall had also added to the effect of peacefulness of the space. It was a good place to contemplate, to breathe in some fresh air, and most of all it was a perfect place to get away from my hectic life. The garden was designed very modest but it was very beautiful. The garden might not have all these vibrant colorful flowers like any other typical gardens but this garden still serves its purposes. The whole experience of my trip made me realized that the true meaning of beauty is simplicity. In other words, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

Blog #3

I went to San Diego for a field trip; unfortunately I did not get to go with the group because I am not feeling well. Meanwhile when my fever subsided I decided to go to Balboa Park on my own since I am already in the area. I chose Balboa Park so I can breathe in some fresh air and for a change away from busy traffic and gigantic buildings. It was one cloudy Wednesday in the Japanese Friendship Garden, and you can feel the cool breeze of air around the park. It is past the hour of ten and the sun is starting to show its luminous rays of sunshine. The weather is not warm or freezing cold; it was a perfect weather to stroll around and enjoy nature. Kneeling down on one of the big rocks under the trellis facing the mini waterfall the view is very serene. The pond area is very mellow to look at because of the simple overall design composition of the garden. A good number of big colorful koi fish in the pond added life to the monochromatic garden. The soothing sound of the water from the mini waterfall had also added to the effect of peacefulness of the space. It is a good place for contemplation to think things through and most of all it is a good place just to have a connection with nature. There is also a mini version of a Zen garden just on the opposite side of the pond. It is a dry version of the pond where they used big rocks, gravels, and sand. The sand mixed with gravels was raked to give it a sense of movement just like the water in a pond. My trip made me realize the meaning of simplicity is beauty.

Leave a Reply

