LACMA

LM

During the fourth week of winter quarter we were given the opportunity to experience a four day field trip in San Diego. Unfortunately, I was unable to attend due to financial circumstances. However, we had an alternative location to choose from and I knew Los Angeles County Museum of Art was a great location to visit. The distinctive and significant artwork that is displayed there attracts my eye and increases my interest to really study the artwork. I decided to visit LACMA on a Friday morning since I had the day free and to avoid traffic. The weather was excellent which made it much more exciting to take some photographs and really enjoy my visit. In addition, a good friend of mine accompanied me to visit LACMA and the fact that it was his first time visiting made this visit worthwhile. On our way to Los Angeles he was really enthusiastic, asking many questions about the museum and my assignment in order to fully understand the motive behind it. Once arriving to Los Angeles, the first trouble we encountered was parking, because as we all know it is a key problem in the city of Los Angeles. After about ten minutes we were fortunate to find a parking close to LACMA which decreased the amount of walking we had to do. As we were making our way through there was many art installations that caught our eye. One of many was the Urban Light by Chris Burden which is an installation of 202 antique cast-iron street lights from various cities. In addition, we came across another art installation that we found fascinating called the Levitated Mass by Michael Heizer. This artwork immediately caught my eye and I knew it would be a great example to represent what is figure and what is ground. The ordinary thing we are accustomed to seeing is a rock embedded into the ground, but in this case it was raised and placed on a granite megalith structure. There was a certain sculpture called Bridegroom by Barbara Hepworth that really caught my eye and I used in my assignment to represent figure and ground. After spending roughly two hours at LACMA I came across many new important names that I did not know about. This experience was definitely worth my time because I expanded my knowledge and helped me understand figure ground study.

REVISED

Blog Post #3

Chronological:

For my alternative location I knew Los Angeles County Museum of Art was a great location to visit. The distinctive and significant artwork that is displayed there attracted my eye and increased my interest to really study the artwork.

I visited LACMA on a Friday morning and the weather was excellent which made it much more exciting to take some photographs and really enjoy my visit. In addition, a good friend of mine accompanied me to visit LACMA and we both learned a lot of different new artists and artwork from visiting the museum.

As we were making our way through there was many art installations that caught our eye. One of many was the Urban Light by Chris Burden which is an installation of 202 antique cast-iron street lights from various cities. In addition, we came across another art installation that we found fascinating called the Levitated Mass by Michael Heizer. This artwork immediately caught my eye and I knew it would be a great example to represent what is figure and what is ground. The ordinary thing we are accustomed to seeing is a rock embedded into the ground, but in this case it was raised and placed on a granite megalith structure. There was a certain sculpture called Bridegroom by Barbara Hepworth that really caught my eye and I used in my assignment to represent figure and ground. While taking photographs of this sculpture the words that came to mind were symmetrical and geometric. However, there are a few shapes that add character to the sculpture and differentiate it from other sculptures throughout LACMA.

After spending roughly two hours at LACMA I came across many new important names that I did not know about. This experience was definitely worth my time because I expanded my knowledge and helped me understand figure ground study.

Blog Post #4

Thematic:

My visit to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art was spent looking at unique and substantial artwork by different artists and designers.  Coming across this artwork and admiring the beautiful weather I felt it was necessary from me to stay outdoors instead of going inside the museum and see other artwork. The modern materials used on the buildings added appeal and surrounded the artwork for spectators to really take a close look. In addition, I noticed sliver casted pallets with a short description on each piece for viewers to sit and learn more about the piece and the artist. This type of interaction allowed me to expand my knowledge of different artists and artwork from around the world. It is a great educational public space for any student.

The overall features that LACMA offers I came across a very distinct and eye catching art installation. This installation was the Urban Light by Chris Burden and consisted of 202 antique-cast iron street lights from various cities. As I admired this installation and took various iconic was a word that came to mind from Lexicon and how well it is conveyed through this artwork.  I continued walking through LACMA and came across a slightly secluded area. This area had a very peaceful mood because of the unique water feature, tall trees, and the different artwork. The area did not have a specific sitting area, but the tall trees provided shade and the well maintained grass was a great place to sit, eat, and socialize with friends.  While I was in this area I came across a piece of artwork called Bridegroom by Barbara Hepworth.

I made my way to a more open space where I came across my favorite piece during my visit at LACMA. This artwork called the Levitated Mass by Michael Heizer was something unusual because the ordinary thing we are familiar to seeing is a rock embedded into the ground, but in this case it was raised and placed on a granite megalith structure. This piece in particular was unique and immediately caught my eye because I knew it would be a great example to represent what is figure and what is ground.

Leave a Reply

