Blog #3 and #4 – The Salk Institute

a great experience

Blog #4: Chronological:

It was a nice sunny weather in San Diego when I arrived to the Salk Institute around 8:10 in the morning. Once the tour started, I became more interested about the institute. We started walking around the institute listening to the interesting information about the Salk Institute and left the institute a few hours later after 12:00. I knew I would come back to this place again.

During the tour I noticed the great choice of the material on both the building and the surrounding area. The concrete work and the stone pavement together with the wooden windows were a great combination. The symmetrical quality of the design was also interesting since it makes the open ocean view area stand out more.

It was past 10 and I noticed how the buildings created a nice shadow on the ground surface. That is when we were told about the water pathway shadow line during the solstices. In order to make an idea like that come alive one must have a strong design capability. Louis Kahn is the architect who designed this remarkable place.

After the sun covered most of the area, I noticed that there are minimum amount of trees in the area. Actually there were no trees in the open courtyard area except next to the entrance door. Later, we were told about the significance of the water design and the open space area. It was designed so perfect that it did not even need any landscape since it is a strong landscape itself.

After the tour was over around noon, I stayed and tried to capture more photos of the site. What I really liked was the water element including the narrow waterway falling in a pool. In my opinion, it made the entire dry concrete color area soft and nice to relax and spend more time there. The Salk Institute the best part of the field trip.

 

 

Blog #3 Revised: Thematic:

The field trip to the Salk Institute was an amazing learning experience. It revealed new ideas and interesting information about the design. Although I did not have much information about the Salk institute, I left there as I was fascinated by the amazing design together its purpose.

One thing that I liked about the Salk Institute was the great view of the open space area where the ocean meets the sky. It looks like The narrow water line ends in the ocean. Just the fact that the shadows of the buildings line up on the water path during the solstices was amazing.  It simply shows the prominence of Louis Kahn, the architect of Salk Institute.

In addition, I liked the general purpose of Salk Institute which gives hope to many people. The Polio vaccine saved lives of many people, together with finding the cure for many other diseases.
It was nice that I could see  inside the labs through the windows where the scientists were doing their job. I could see different posters inside the labs which gave me an idea of what the people inside that lab might be working on.

I can think of different meanings and words about the design. One perspective can be seen as  the sky is the limit for finding the cures for different diseases and that everything is done at its highest level at the Salk Institute. However, others might look at it in a different way. The trip was a great opportunity for me to think about the different elements of the design and how Louis Kahn came up with these great ideas back then. I will definitely visit the Salk Institute again.

_________________________________________________________________________

OLD POST:

I knew the field trip was a great opportunity to visit the Salk Institute and I could not miss such a great learning experience. We visited the Salk Institute on the first day during our field trip. I did not have much information about Louis Kahn before actually I arrived at the Institute. I could see inside the labs since they were all made with glass with steel frames. After hearing the story about how the Institute was founded, I wanted to know more. The first thing that caught my attention was the beautiful scenery once I entered the open area in the middle of the institute. It gave me an impression that the surface was ending in the ocean. The water path which cut the institute in half was amazing. It made more sense once we were told about the shadow line on the water pathway during the solstices. It simply shows the prominence of Louis Kahn, the architect of Salk Institute. We stayed there with the rest of the students for a while after the tour was over. However, I was also able to experience the space on my own which was interesting. With only being there for once, I could tell that I will remember everything for a long period of time. It might be the design or just the simplicity of some parts of the design. Most of all, I liked the general purpose of Salk Institute which gives hope to many people. It was just relaxing every time I looked at the end of the open space where it met the sky. I can think of different meanings about the design. It takes away an important meaning for me every time I think about it. It can mean that the sky is the limit for finding the cures for different diseases and that everything is done at its highest level at the Salk Institute.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

