Blog 3 & 4

IMG_1456
UCLA

Blog 4

Revisiting past places and experiences reveals new discoveries that one would argue most times leads to further enhanced understanding of a space. An important part however is returning to these places with an open mind and to truly relive and embrace the experience. My visit to UCLA echoes this statement and became an influential characteristic of how I viewed and experienced the grounds.

Prior to my most recent visit, the campus to me seemed it was a space that did not contribute towards producing student activity and liveliness. The buildings and pathways were structured with a very open feel, which to me felt as though a disconnection between the students and the university itself existed. However reemerging myself into the space showed the flaws in my preceding judgment. By experiencing the estate with a more active environment I was able to see the true dynamic qualities of the school and the true central areas of that produced an energy that was experienced throughout my journey.  Observing students, as they were actively engaging in seemingly unnoticed spaces either studying, playing sports other social activities further proved this quality to me.

Knowing that the university is very much connected to the active Westwood and Los Angles area, I first believed that the crowded buildings and streets would seem to surround the school grounds themselves. Yet I came to realize that this was not seen or even noticed as I walked throughout the campus. Many moments along the journey I found myself lost more in the surrounding of the school and not even realizing the fact that I was in a central area of a lively city.

Not allowing the surrounding environment or previous opinions to crowd my understanding of a space is a key lesson that was learned. Reentering the space allowed me to view and experience new aspects of the site itself.

Blog 3 Rewrite

A vast, yet hidden, estate lay in the center of this small portion of a seemingly endless county. Walking along a digressed path I found myself slowly moving towards the heart of this campus. Stepping over the outer boundary of the property I was exposed to the first signs of student life. Within a large, depressed sports arena I found cries of school spirit that resonated throughout the facility, which drew myself and other passers by further in. Venturing further the campus began to reveal its true identity. Unlike my previous encounter, masses of students and limited paths of travel among the crowds forced me towards areas of commonly unnoticed objects and structures. Winding my way through these crowds of students I was able to come across a view that I captured my attention. A community center framed by a continuous stairway guided my eye line towards the top the building and further towards the background. In a complex and urban city one would expect skyline congestion and competition from a variety of structures for the attention of the viewer. However this was not the case. Nowhere in my line of sight existed any opposing or distracting structures; the only image that I could focus on was the sky and the landscape of the campus. From this I was able to truly focus on the campus itself and not the surroundings. This experience is an aspect that the university is looking to achieve by providing its students a real sense of place and familiarity even within a crowded city. Slowly the campus began to darken and making my way back along the central path I exited the campus back onto the busy streets. It was a campus hidden away in the center of one of the most urbanized cities yet feels a place separate from it all.

Blog 3

A vast, yet hidden, estate lay in the center of a small portion of a seemingly endless county. Walking along a digressed path I found myself slowly moving towards the heart of this property. Unlike previous encounters, large groups became to emerge. Sports teams displaying the immense spirit in an arena captured my attention. Venturing further the campus began to reveal its true identity that was different than my previous encounter. Masses of students and limited paths of travel through the crowds forced me towards areas of commonly unnoticed objects and structures. Winding my way through these crowds of students I was able to come across a structure that I kept my attention. A community center framed by a continuous stairway guided your eye line towards the top the building and further on towards the background. In a complex and urban city one would expect congestion and competition of a variety of structures for the attention of the viewer, however it was not the case. Nowhere in my line of sight were there any opposing or distracting structures; the only image that I could focus on was the sky and the landscape of the campus. This allowed me to truly focus on the campus itself and not the surroundings. The university achieves a purpose of giving to its students a sense of place and a sense of familiarity. Aged, brick buildings and clean pathways that guided me along the different routes surrounded as I continued through the campus. Slowly the campus began to darken and making my way back along the same path I exited the campus back into the busy streets. It was a campus hidden away in the center of one of the most urbanized cities yet feels a place separate from it all.

Leave a Reply

