LACMA

LACMA

Blog #4

I took time to observe the art through the museum in LACMA to see what it has to offer. It wouldn’t be my first time at the museum but there is always something new to experience when you observe the area or look for something beyond the art. I specifically wanted to look for something that had great significance that did not have anything boring about it.

I first started off in the Egyptian gallery in the Hammer Building but nothing stood out that had to do with landscape. So I moved on and saw various straw looking things dangling from a support that allowed people walk through the straw creating this yellow water feature feeling through your skin but even then, it wasn’t enough to make me feel anything different.

As i moved into the Ahmanson Building again nothing captured my attention. I mean besides the art displayed it has a lot to show regarding the techniques and poetry it represent, but nothing assosciated with landscape except for some ancient art but the art just had no significance.

At last, at the end of the searching I entered the outside world, where i came across a huge boulder. I observed it, felt little, but once again NOTHING. I finally started my way to the car and as I made my way from the back of the Resnick Pavillion towards Wilshire Blvd. I came across to what I have always enjoyed watching.

The Urban Lights that stood up bold and tall with various heights stood between the street and I. It for sure is an obstacle but the funny thing is I always pass by it, enjoy it, but it always gives me this feeling like it is the first time i walk through it. I took a picture where the moon was shown right next to the post by the angle I was looking at the sky. The gradient sky of light blue to a darken shade of blue sure was a contrast compared to the dark posts. The view was sure something to remember and it allowed me to reflect a little that had to do with time in a way. During the day the lights are off but as the day passes, the lights turn on, bring the posts to life with the flow of people and the brightness of the top of the posts. These posts, although simple creates a sort of reflection of life to me allowing it to be something significant to me.

Blog #3

Unfortunately i was not able to attend the San Diego trip, but i took the opportunity to visit LACMA. The art is so fascinating but in this assignment i looked beyond the art and observed the landscape. The posts outside of LACMA are iconic for most people and it gives every person a different idea of what is going on. I enjoyed this view of the moon next to the posts standing bold and high with the reflection of the other lights surrounded. The contrast between the post and the sky give an awesome view to look at with the light right in the center signifying the life of these posts. To me it shows life and death, the beginning of life which is the post coming from the ground, to the life we live symbolized by the light, to the sky that symbolizes the afterlife. Like i said we all have our own respective and to me this image is pretty siiiik.

Leave a Reply

