The Pyramid

IMAG0474

Post 4 (Thematic):

I have been to Cal-State Long Beach before, however, this was the first time I would actually go in and explore the campus.  The first thing I experienced was driving around.  The campus was pretty big so it had roads placed through and around it.  Having said that, their roads do engaging things like go straight, turn, and then loop back around.  The parts that caught my attention were the roundabouts.  They went around, but were cut in the middle so that cars could also go through it.  It was strange but interesting driving through those.

Going through the campus, I was looking for the best figure ground pictures.  I was trying to find three distinct areas so that they would create different diagrams.  The first place I found was the iconic pyramid.  I chose the beams supporting the pyramid as the figure.  Next, I went to the student union where I saw the water fountain that created an interesting shape.  Lastly, I found a open quad area with trees.  These three areas fit what I was looking for because my focus was on different textures and that’s what I got – smooth sharp beams, speckled water, and webbed trees.

After that, I met up with my friend and sat down to people watch.  Because of our past projects, I was curious to look at how people “used the space.”  We were sitting by the water fountain seeing if people used the bench around it.  Most people did usual things like sitting on it or lying down.  One person however used it to actually do tricks and flips.  He was making a video with his friends and he used the platform to jump and spin backwards.

In the end, exploring Cal-State Long Beach became a rewarding experience.  Driving around and looking at figure ground relationships gave me more knowledge on the subject.  Then, at the end of the day, I got to see interesting uses of normal seating.

Post 3 Revised (Chronological):

Going toward Cal-State Long Beach, the first thing I saw was the iconic pyramid on the north side of campus.  Driving through campus was really an adventure because of the odd shape of the roundabouts.  They would circle around, have a cut in the middle, and then circle back, which made me curious about them.

The first place I looked at was the pyramid.  I thought it was only a structure set on the ground; however, underneath were white beams supporting the pyramid.  They almost looked like upside down pyramids because there were four that came up from one point.  Additionally, I thought the pyramid was made of sheets of shinny black glass, however up-close they were actually blue panels that faced each other, making me wonder what made the pyramid look shiny from afar.

Afterwards, I saw the fountain that had three dandelion shaped balls for the water piece.  It was very interesting creating a figure ground relationship out of the fountain.  I had to decide what to focus on, whether it would be the structure or the water.  When focusing on the water, the figure became suspended dots in the air, however focusing on the structure created a textured figure.  I decided to go with the latter.

Lastly, I looked at the quad between the design and art buildings.  What caught my eye in this area were the arrangements of the trees.  They looked like they were moving back and forth because of the paths winding in between them.  Overall it was an interesting experience to focus on figure ground relationships.  Each part of the campus I looked at provided a different look to the figure ground contrast.

Original:

Driving through Cal-State Long Beach, the first thing I saw was the iconic pyramid on the north side of campus.  Right next to it, I noticed the Richard and Karen Carpenter Performing Arts Center where I have watched many PACNs (Pilipino American Culture Night) put on by CSULB PAC (Pilipino American Coalition).  Driving through campus was really an adventure because of the odd shape of the roundabouts.  They would circle around, cut in the middle, and then circle back, which made me curious about them.  We finally got around and parked in the lot by the Student Union.  In addition to taking a field trip outside of the area to look at figure ground relationships, I also wanted to stop by and see how PAC was doing.  We went to their meeting, which was held in beach auditorium.  They put on a play which was a spoof of Pitch Perfect.  It was entertaining and fun to watch my friends up on stage.  After catching up, my friend took me around campus to look at different areas.  The first place I asked to see was the pyramid.  I thought it was only a structure set on the ground; however, underneath were white beams supporting the pyramid.  They almost looked like upside down pyramids because there were four that came up from one point.  Additionally, I thought the pyramid was made of sheets of shinny black glass; however, when looking up-close, they were actually blue panels that faced each other.  It made me wonder what made the pyramid look shiny from afar.  Afterwards, she showed me the fountain that had three dandelion shaped balls for the water piece.  It was very interesting creating a figure ground relationship out of the fountain.  Lastly, she took me to the quad between the design and art buildings, her usual buildings.  What caught my eye in this area was the formation and arrangement of the trees.  They looked like they were moving back and forth because of the paths set in between them.  Overall it was an interesting experience to focus on figure ground relationships.

 

Leave a Reply

