Ciclavia’s Real Meaning

IMG_0917

 

When I first heard about Ciclavia was back in my first quarter as a landscaping Architect in one of our lectures. I soon learn that Ciclavia is an annual event that happens every two years and consists of closing down streets only for bicycles riders in down town L.A. I soon decided that I would try to participate in the next event. I did not know what to expect but seem like it would be a lot of fun. The trail for this year would be to ride my bicycle from Olvera Street to Venice beach. The day soon arrived, it was a sunny Sunday morning and I was about to take my longest ride across the streets of downtown L.A without worrying about any cars. The event started at 10 am and would conclude at 3 pm. That meant that I would have 5 hours to ride my bicycle for 15 miles, easy I thought.  My ride started with a bit of anxiety because amount of cyclist on the street. I wanted to go as fast as possible, so I could get to the finish line in Venice beach but soon realized what I was missing and changed my mind. I started looking at all the different buildings in Down Town L.A and started slowing down my speed on my bicycle. It was like a huge datum line was moving next to me. The scenery was all around great Architecture buildings, parks, stores, public spaces, and me. The Datum line kept moving up and down as I continued riding my bicycle between the new and old buildings in the Down Town area. People would past me very fast trying to get to the finish line. I slowly kept looking at my surroundings and realized the real meaning of Ciclavia. Traveling in a bicycle really gives you a true idea about size and how much our design has changed throughout the years. At least the idea of a community was there because everyone was really nice and helpful.  Only a few people took their time to really enjoy the scenery of down town L.A. The scenery that the bicycle provided could never be compare to traveling in a car. Places like Bunker Hill, the U.S bank building, the Down Town library where some of the other building that I got to see from a different perspective that I never seen before. The amount of detail in the buildings and the very different architecture was nice to see.  The rest of the ride was not as interesting as downtown L.A. because it was mostly houses and shopping center facets that am used to seeing every day in my neighborhood. My happiest moment of the whole ride however, was finally making it to Venice in one piece, 15 miles was not as easy as I imagine.

Leave a Reply

