The new scale

CicLAviaCicLAvia is an event in Downtown Los Angeles where they close major avenues and streets to host a cycling event. Although it is not limited to just cyclist, people can use their skate boards, scooters, tricycles, unicycles or simply by foot. This event is unique to the area since there is nothing like it, in Southern California. This event originated from Colombia where the city of Bogota would close the streets and basically tell the people to use them with no cars.

In Los Angeles there has been a push for CicLAvia in the previous years. When it first started it was held once a year. Now it is held four times a year and every time there is different routes that take you to different parts of the city. The one I attended was on Sunday April 23, 2013 and it was from Olvera Street to Venice Beach, roughly fifteen miles. The event was schedule to start at 10:00am to 3:00pm. I got there half hour earlier and waited for my friend to get there since I was the only one to make it to the train. Once we were all together we decided to start earlier than the 350,000 people that went. I felt weird with no cars around me and experiencing the city in a totally different way. I felt naked in comparison when I had gone in a car. I was able to see the scale of the streets, buildings and city. I also noticed how the elevation changed and we just take that for granted when we are in a car. When we were about midpoint to the destination I started to feel tired and started to doubt if I was going to make it to the end. I also noticed how the buildings got smaller. Once we got to Venice Beach, the pedestrian and bicycle traffic got really bad but in overall experiencing the city this way made me realize the scale of Downtown Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

