Building the new future

2013-04-27 16.00.42

Los Angeles has a way to attract people and this is shown wherever you go. On April 27th, wast he first time I volunteered for EnrichLA along with two other 3rd year students from Cal Poy, Denise and Jimmy. That day was a great experience due to being allowed to work outside and to create a garden for the students and staff and parents. a lot of volunteeres showed up at various times but I had excited to work on this garden that I had gotten there at 7:30, an hour and a half before the working was planned out for. I helped Tomas (one in charge of EnrichLA) with whatever task he asked for.

The time came when most volunteers had shown up and we were split up into sections because this garden was pretty big. I was held responsible for the dry lake that measured 18 inches deep with a width of 5 feet and length of almost 10 feet. The dry lake was set up next to the pathway by the entrance of the school through this garden side. The tree provides shade for the lake and although no water is in it, it’s intention is to set a relaxing mood by just looking at it and allow runoff water to go when it rains.

The lake was not all I worked on. Tomas once again seeing me as a leader that day, he partnered me up with an engineer, carpenter and Jimmy Ta to create horse fence in 3 different sections. The fence allowed a barrier in to what to see and it was so simple. The fence itself although siple, can create something significant and can change the way something is used and observed. Jimmy was the one using the nail gun, but then I was asked if I wanted to try. I have never used a nailgun before but I have seen my dad use it and teach me how it works so I was not that unfamiliar with the tool. In a way,I was asked to be next to use it since Jimmy seemed unprofessional and held the gun in a dangerous way that may have caused himself and other to be injured if it slipped. The experience of using this strong tool was so exciting, it had so much power and it got things done a lot faster than just a hammer and nail and screws.

At the end of the day, the garden was a success. Finished it all at 5 and the garden looked beautiful, from the picnic tables under the tree surrounded by edible plants on the north and a cactus on the east and to the south the dry lake. The garden also included a remodelation of the plant beds on the other side of the pathway each with new irrigation by them to be watered when recommended since the existing garden was completely dead due to no irrigation placed. Seeing a garden be brought back is a nice thing to see and be part of. I have told Tomas that I am available to help whenever another event comes up and I look forward for helping out again.

Leave a Reply

