River Model Design Revision

Here are some JPEG’s of the CAD design I’ve drawn up.  The questions I posted in my previous post still need to be answered, i.e. rail material and section cut materials.  I’ve priced out a couple different options to look at.

I didn’t clearly explain in my last post that this design eliminates the need for creating notches (over 2000), and instead puts notches into the section cuts, allowing everyone to slip their individual pieces onto the rails and making them almost disappear into the model.  I hope these JPEG’s illustrate this clearly.  This method would greatly minimize our work and emphasize the section cuts instead of the model base.

P.S. I’ve designed the wire hangers to go directly through the rail itself (drilled hole), eliminating any lateral torque.

River Plan ViewPLAN VIEW OF GALLERY

River ElevationMODEL ELEVATION, HANGING FROM CEILING

River Elevation DetailELEVATION DETAIL, 1/8″ SECTION CUTS WITH 1/2″ SPACING – 24 SECTION CUTS PER PERSON

Wire DetailWIRE DETAIL, NOTICE RAIL DISAPPEARS INTO SECTION CUT

Section ASECTION A-A’

Section BSECTION B-B’

 

Leave a Reply

